Watchmen

I have been thinking about posting something about the new Watchmen movie since I saw it on Saturday. Thing is I’m not up to writing a review, everyone’s doing that better than I could. So as a fan, who’s read the original graphic novel more than a few times over the last 20 or so years, I fall into the category of those "fans" that the film-makers were worrying about when they undertook this mammoth task. One of those fans about who they felt if we hate it and slate it, it might kill it’s chances of box-office success.

So, the verdict… it’s faithful. It’s good, it’s better than good but it’s not perfect. Reassuringly it’s so much better than it could have been. And most tellingly, I can’t wait to see it again, I mean I really want to see it again and I’m not sure I can wait for the DVD – even though I also want to see the ‘Black Freighter’ interpretation too.

If you are one of those moviegoers who thinks superhero movies are juvenile, popcorn movies, then this may be the superhero movie for you. Yes these guys do wear capes, but the themes are all grown-up themes, for thinking adults.

If it’s still too much of a reach for you, read the graphic novel, now that is proper grown-up stuff.

Leave a Reply

