2010, so far, so good

another year another embarrassing gap between posts. why do I bother I ask myself, indeed why do you bother asks my reader, all one of him/her. NB I am ignorant of their gender, it is not they who are undecided, at least as far as I know, which is plainly not very far at all.

There are like a million things I could catch you up on, except, that would be 1. boring (I mean srsly even more boring than this) and 2. it would take far too long.

So instead I’ll ramble about some random things, like:

A. a fabulous new iPhone photography App that I downloaded this very day, called Hipstamatic, and priced at an incredibly reasonable £1.19 which is like $1.99 of your American dollars. plus when you realise just how fantabulous it is for yourself, you will be pleased to discover that there are additional upgrade packs for a paltry 59p (99c) each, an amount you’ll be only to happy to pay to have even more fun with this App.
Oh, but why? I hear you ask, [listens briefly, and almost deafened by the silence, continues] why does this fool think I want another camera app for my iPhone which has a pretty poor camera already, for no extra money.
Well here’s why, because it will make your photos even poorer quality, but also indescribably sooo much better and more fun.
Hipstamatic is a beautiful re-creation of the plasticy-goodness of the original early 80’s camera with a ton of options for customising, lenses, film type and flash. to quote their app store entry “Digital photography never looked so analog”.
[note to self upload at least one convincing example here]

B. i saw The Wolfman movie this weekend, and what a jolly good romp it was too. the caveat with this film is, it’s not a modern horror movie, the film-makers ignore even the retro make-up effects of 80’s classics like The Howling or American Werewolf in London, to go proper ‘back-in-time’ to the 1940’s B&W horror days of Lon Chaney Jr.’s The Wolf Man. Wonderfully recreating the make-up style that made Chaney into a monster whilst clearly keeping him a man. Yes the script in this version is patchyin places, and Anthony Hopkins goes a little over the top, but, if for no other reason than to see a bunch of annoying local villager types get their comeuppance, this is a popcorn movie to sit back and enjoy.

C. Just finished the first of Steig Larsson’s Millenium Trilogy, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I know, I must be like the last person on the planet to have read it, but, just in case dear reader you are in fact yet to have picked this up yourself, let me urge you to do so. Here is why – fistly this is a difficult book to get in to. There must be 90 pages or so of pretty uninvolving stuff before I found the narrative became truly gripping. But once you’re in to the core of the story it’s worth the wait. That said there is nothing here which is completely unique, but enough elements are refreshingly combined to make this a very enjoyable read even for one such as myself who has been all over this genre for 30-odd years. Also, I cannot wait to read the next book in the series, that is always a promising sign…

Which leads me to an apology to my book club colleagues, I’ve been reading this instead of the book I was meant to be reading. That’s about the second month in a row I’ve done that, perhaps I’m not the clubby type, I like to read what I’m in the mood for and as soon as something is prescribed I have a tendency to rebel against it. sorry 😉

Leave a Reply

